Wilson Golf has been manufacturing premium golf equipment since 1914 and has more Major wins than any other golf brand, in fact Wilson Golf has won a Major in every decade since the 1920’s.

Gene Sarazen was Wilson’s first notable signing in 1922 going on to win seven of Wilson’s first eight Major Championships. In 1932 Sarazen, inspired by the aerodynamics of the wing of an aeroplane created a club-head that would glide through sand. Sarazen welded a piece of steel to the sole of the club and ground it producing “bounce.” This effectively marked the introduction of the Sand Wedge. In 1933 Wilson sold 50,000 of these clubs, marketed as the R-90, which went on to be the most popular sand wedge in golf. 1999 saw the end of Wilson’s relationship with Gene Sarazen – a 75-year bond, only broken by Gene’s sad passing.

Wilson Golf, over the years, has been responsible for several innovations. In 1933, Wilson introduced what we know today as Perimeter Weighting or Cavity Back Irons. In 1948 Wilson provided the financial backing for the formation of the Women’s PGA, the predecessor of today's LPGA and 1954 saw the introduction of the Wilson Staff Ball which revolutionised the game by launching up to 40% faster than the clubs head speed.

More recently, in 1995, Wilson introduced mid-size forged irons, 1997 saw the introduction of the revolutionary Fat Shaft irons, 2005 saw Wilson among the first of the golf companies to use nanotechnology across their golf equipment and right up to modern-day 2018 where the introduction of Power Holes into both cast and forged irons has changed golfer’s expectations on distance.

Wilson Irons

Wilson’s deep history with some of golf’s greatest players doesn’t stop at Sarazen – indeed Major winners with Wilson include Sam Snead, Arnold Palmer, Hale Irwin, Andy North, Payne Stewart, Ben Crenshaw, Vijay Singh, John Daly, Padraig Harrington right up to Gary Woodland in 2019.

Other players to come close while using Wilson clubs include Tom Watson, Nick Faldo, Greg Norman and Walter Hagen – while the modern-day stable includes Brendan Steele, Kevin Streelman and Gary Woodland, perhaps our most successful modern-day player is Padraig Harrington who remains loyal to the Wilson brand and has enjoyed recent success by just taking out the 42nd US Senior Open.

Wilson Major Winners

1922 U.S. Open Gene Sarazen

1922 PGA Championship Gene Sarazen

1923 PGA Championship Gene Sarazen

1928 U.S. Open Johnny Farrell

1932 The Open Championship Gene Sarazen

1932 U.S. Open Gene Sarazen

1933 PGA Championship Gene Sarazen

1935 The Masters Gene Sarazen

1935 PGA Championship Johnny Revolta

1936 PGA Championship Denny Shute

1937 PGA Championship Denny Shute

1937 U.S. Open Ralph Guldahl

1938 U.S. Open Ralph Guldahl

1939 The Masters Ralph Guldahl

1941 PGA Championship Vic Ghezzi

1942 PGA Championship Sam Snead

1946 U.S. Open Lloyd Mangrum

1946 The Open Championship Sam Snead

1947 PGA Championship Jim Ferrier

1948 The Masters Claude Harmon

1949 The Masters Sam Snead

1949 U.S. Open Cary Middlecoff

1949 PGA Championship Sam Snead

1952 The Masters Sam Snead

1954 The Masters Sam Snead

1955 The Masters Cary Middlecoff

1956 U.S. Open Cary Middlecoff

1958 The Masters Arnold Palmer

1959 The Masters Art Wall Jr.

1959 U.S. Open Billy Casper

1960 The Masters Arnold Palmer

1960 U.S. Open Arnold Palmer

1961 The Open Championship Arnold Palmer

1962 The Masters Arnold Palmer

1962 The Open Championship Arnold Palmer

1963 U.S. Open Julius Boros

1965 PGA Championship Dave Marr

1966 U.S. Open Billy Casper

1968 U.S. PGA Championship Julius Boros

1969 The Masters George Archer

1970 The Masters Billy Casper

1974 U.S. Open Hale Irwin

1976 U.S. Open Jerry Pate

1976 The Open Championship Johnny Miller

1978 U.S. Open Andy North

1979 U.S. Open Hale Irwin

1981 The Open Championship Bill Rogers

1984 The Masters Ben Crenshaw

1985 The Masters Bernhard Langer

1985 U.S. Open Andy North

1989 U.S. PGA Championship Payne Stewart

1990 U.S. Open Hale Irwin

1991 U.S. Open Payne Stewart

1993 The Masters Bernhard Langer

1995 The Open Championship John Daly

1998 PGA Championship Vijay Singh

1999 The Open Championship Paul Lawrie

2007 The Open Championship Pádraig Harrington

2008 The Open Championship Pádraig Harrington

2008 PGA Championship Pádraig Harrington

2019 U.S. Open Gary Woodlan